The Peace of Home

I had multiple appointments and some shopping to do yesterday so I was roaming around the larger areas of central Texas. I don’t live in a large city (thankfully). My town only has 1,800 – 2000 people in it. The closest larger town maybe has 20,000. One of the things I remarked on was how peaceful life was. People were doing what they do everyday… going about their business quietly and peacefully. There was no anger, no rage, no protest, no riots and no cowering in fear. Life goes on as the cliché goes. I thank God that he covers us in His Grace.

The evil that exists in the major cities doe snot have as strong a foothold here in middle America. There the manufactured mess affects everyday life. Here things move more slowly. I don’t have to worry about traffic. I don’t have to worry about people blocking intersections and thoroughfares. All I worry about is whether my goats have food, water and are healthy. That my family is taken care of. All the threats we see on the news and the dire circumstances of life seem almost not to touch the quietness of home.

While I know by and large that our peace here is a façade of sorts, it is comforting to know that I can escape what is going on in the world by coming home.

Leave a Reply

